Reims
Grand Prix Circuit (1954-1972)

This turn was named after the nearby village of Muizon. This corner was named in honour of the driver Annie Bousquet, who perished following an accident at this location during the 17th lap of the 1956 edition of the 12 Heures de Reims. Jean-Pierre Beltoise crashed here in 1964, badly breaking his left arm. The most commonly used name for the first turn for the 1952+ configuration was 'Courbe de Gueux', named after the nearby village of Gueux. However, some people called the corner 'Calvaire' to differentiate it from the 'Virage de Gueux' that was the first (much tighter) right-hander on the pre-1952 configuration. In the 1958 French GP, Luigi Musso perished in an accident at this turn and the corner began to be named in his honour. This turn was named after the nearby village of Thillois.

1925 Circuit 1926-1951 Circuit 1952 Circuit 1953 Circuit 1954-1972 Circuit
Length 5.159 Miles  //  8.301 km
Direction Clockwise

Contact Information

Address

The circuit is no longer operational

Telephone
Website

Further Details

Autodrome: The Lost Race Circuits Of Europe, by By S.S. Collins and Gavin D. IrelandAutodrome: The Lost Race Circuits Of Europe
by  S.S. Collins and Gavin D. Ireland
A look at the history of nine of Europe's great abandoned race circuits – and seen as they are today in stunning photographs.
Click here for further details and ordering information

racingcircuits.net - Lasted Updated: 17 August 2004 23:17:48 GMT Daylight Time