Page 1 of 1

2019 Bathurst 12 Hour

Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2018 04:00 am
by theracer120 ... ntry-list/

The entry list has been released with 43 cars. Overall the entry is down somewhat from last years but the outright GT3 class hasn't diminished noticeably with 28 entries from 10 manufacturers.

Re: 2019 Bathurst 12 Hour

Posted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 23:10 pm
by theracer120 ... rst-debut/

Paul Tracy will be driving a MARC car in the 12 Hour.

Re: 2019 Bathurst 12 Hour

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 00:53 am
by theracer120 ... evealed-2/

The full entry list has been revealed. The GT3 field is great although the lower classes are quite lacking.

Re: 2019 Bathurst 12 Hour

Posted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 02:05 am
by Everso Biggyballies
Yeah, only 41 cars in total is a bit disappointing after the numbers of previous years, (12 down on last year) but as has been said a top class GT3 entry with "six Mercedes-AMG GT3s, five Audi R8 LMS, four Porsche 911 GT3 Rs, and a smattering of Aston Martins, Bentleys, BMWs, Ferraris, Nissans, Lamborghinis and a single McLaren 650S GT3."

Looking forward to seeing the new Bentleys for the first time at the mountain.... they ran the old model last year. Also good to see the 2017 winning Nissan GTR of Chiyo back after missing last year.

Re: 2019 Bathurst 12 Hour

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 16:52 pm
by erwin greven
John Dagys wrote:41 Entries for Bathurst 12H

Forty-one cars on finalized entry list for Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour…

date: January 18, 2019

A total of 41 cars are on the finalized entry list for next month’s Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12 Hour, which will again serve as the opening round of the Intercontinental GT Challenge.

The world-class grid mixes Australian talent with some of the best drivers from around the world, with more than 120 drivers from 22 different nationalities representing 13 different brands and entered by teams from ten different countries.

The list includes seven former winners of the 12-Hour – for a total of nine wins – and three Allan Simonsen Pole award winners, including defending pole-sitter Chaz Mostert.

Defending IGTC manufacturer’s champion Audi and reigning drivers champions, Tristan Vautier (overall) and Kenny Habul (Bronze) will all commence their respective title defenses at Bathurst.

Eight different Bathurst 1000 winners account for 19 Great Race victories, including seven-time Bathurst 1000 winner Craig Lowndes, while drivers entered have also won the Bathurst 6 Hour (Paul Morris and Chaz Mostert) and the twice-run Bathurst 24 hour (Garth Tander and Cameron McConville) races as well.

The current outright (Christopher Mies), Bathurst 12 Hour (Shane van Gisbergen), Supercars (David Reynolds), Carrera Cup (Jaxon Evans) and Production Car (Chaz Mostert) lap record holders at Mount Panorama all feature in the field.

The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship is represented by drivers that have won 338 races and 12 championships in Australia’s top category, including seven-time champion Jamie Whincup. Multiple Super2 series winners are also included as are winners of Porsche Carrera Cup Australia and the Australian GT Championship.

The international component includes drivers to have won more than 30 different highly regarded major national or international racing championships around the world, including the FIA World Endurance Championship and a majority of the major GT3-based championships around the world.

Champions of the Blancpain GT Endurance, Sprint and Asian titles are among the field, while British Touring Car and DTM Champions join their Supercars relatives on the grid representing the best Touring Car competitions in the world.

Two outright (and six class) winners of the LeMans 24 Hour, seven Spa 24 Hour winners and 10 Nurburgring 24 Hour winners also feature.

Three former Formula One drivers accounting for 126 Grands Prix starts are entered, as is a former IndyCar series champion with 30 victories to his credit.

Current or former champions of European, Australian and British Formula 3, Indy Lights, FIA GT, SuperFormula, Super GT, Carrera Cup Asia, France, Germany, Porsche Supercup, the ADAC GT Masters and British GT are also included.

The 2019 grid includes 28 cars in the outright GT3 class, representing 10 manufacturers. This group will be split between Pro, Pro-Am and Am categories prior to the race.

Class B’s all Porsche battle includes champions of the top one-make racers from both the Australian and Asian series, plus a Porsche WEC staple.

Class C for GT4 vehicles will see a battle between BMW, Ginetta and KTM for class honours. The Ginetta team is yet to confirm their final driving line-up.

The Invitational class will see a pair each of Generation 1 and Generation 2 MARC Cars competing for their own spot on the Bathurst podium.

Re: 2019 Bathurst 12 Hour

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 03:37 am
by Everso Biggyballies
An in-car warning system designed to alert drivers of upcoming hazards will be used for the first time in Australia at next week’s Bathurst 12 Hour.

All cars will be fitted with a Motec warning light device that aims to help prevent a repeat of a frightening crash that saw last year’s race red flagged and hospitalised two drivers.

“It doesn’t override anything that’s already in place. But basically, it’s an additional communication device which will allow a light on the dash of the car to flash up to warn drivers when they’re coming up to a sector which has a change in conditions.”

They are saying that the VASC people will be monitoring the trial with a view to using it themselves. Probably not needed everywhere but certainly at long tracks like Mt Panorama where we have seen some alarming accidents in recent years cause by drivers arriving after blind corners at the scene of a incident and becoming part of it. Im not a great fan of Health and Safety in motor racing but this move is reasonable I think. ... 12h-trial/

Re: 2019 Bathurst 12 Hour

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2019 04:32 am
by Everso Biggyballies
A pretty strong Mercedes 6 car lineup....

Mercedes-AMG GT3 entries for the Liqui-Moly Bathurst 12-Hour

#19 – Griffith Corp. Team Nineteen, Black Falcon Mark Griffith, Yelmer Buurman, Christina Nielsen
#75 – SunEnergy1 Racing Kenny Habul, Tristan Vautier, Thomas Jaeger
#77 – Mercedes-AMG Team Craft Bamboo Black Falcon Maro Engel, Luca Stolz, Gary Paffett
#777 – The Bend Motorsport Park Yasser Shahin, David Reynolds, Luke Youlden
#888 – Mercedes-AMG Team Vodafone Craig Lowndes, Jamie Whincup, Shane van Gisbergen
#999 – Mercedes-AMG Team MANN FILTER GruppeM Racing Maximillian Buhk, Raffaele Marciello, Maximillian Goetz

They tested at Phillip Island where Craig Lowndes commented on how much easier the Merc is to drive than the Ferrari he had driven (and won) in previous 12 hours. The CL/JW/SVG car starts as favourite to win.

9 days until the action starts.